Miguel Angel Jimenez Wins 2019 Chubb Classic

BY: PGA TOUR Champions

After a one-hole playoff with Bernhard Langer and Olin Browne, Miguel Angel Jimenez came away as the 2019 Chubb Classic Champion.

Playing in the sixth-to-last group with Browne, Jimenez posted his fifth birdie of the day on No. 17 to get to 13-under. He posted the day’s only bogey-free round, a 5-under 66, and played the last 47 holes of the tournament bogey free.

Jimenez and Browne were the clubhouse leaders at 13-under after Browne double bogeyed the closing hole. It was the first time Jimenez had a share of the lead on Sunday.

In the playoff, Jimenez’s two-putt par from 30 feet secured the victory after Langer and Browne failed to get up-and-down for par on the par-4 18th, which was the second-hardest hole Sunday (4.325). Jimenez improved his playoff record to 2-2.

The win is Jimenez’s seventh on PGA TOUR Champions, and this is the sixth straight year he has won. Last year, he won his first two senior majors, the Regions Tradition and The Senior Open Championship. In the last three years, he has finished 5th (2018) and 6th (2017, 2016) in the Charles Schwab Cup.

In his other two starts at the Chubb Classic, he was runner-up in 2017 and ninth in 2018.

Chubb Classic Parking

All spectator parking will be at the Florida Sports Park. See below for the address and directions. Shuttles will provide transportation to the Chubb Classic’s main entrance 30 minutes before gates open and 30 minutes after play concludes. Below are detailed directions to the lot.


3740 The Lords Way

Naples, FL 34114


From North US-41:

Follow Tamiami Trail/US-41 S. Turn left to continue on Tamiami Trail/US-41 S. Continue for 3.5 miles. Turn left on Rattlesnake Hammock and follow for 3 miles. Turn left on Collier Blvd. Turn right on The Lords Way St. Turn right onto Celebration Blvd.

From I-75 South:

Take Exit 101 for County Rd 951/FL-84 toward Naples/Marco Island. Keep right at the fork and merge onto County Rd 951/Collier Blvd. Continue south on Collier Blvd. for 4 miles. Turn left onto The Lords Way St. Turn right onto Celebration Blvd.

Final Field Announced for the 2019 Chubb Classic

Naples, Fla. – The final field is set for the 32nd year of the Chubb Classic held at The Classics Country Club at Lely Resort from February 11-17, 2019. A total of seven past champions, seven Hall of Fame members and 33 of the top 36 players from the 2018 Charles Schwab Cup Official Money List will compete for this year’s Chubb Classic title.

“It is fantastic to see such a strong field of competitors who have committed to playing in next week’s Chubb Classic,” Tournament Director Kevin Diaz said. “We cannot wait for the players and PGA TOUR Champions fans to experience this world-class golf event at our brand new host course.”

The current field list is below.

Allen, Michael Goydos, Paul Montgomerie, Colin * * Hall of Fame member
Ames, Stephen Haas, Jay O’Meara, Mark * + Sponsor Exemption
Andrade, Billy Harris, John Olazábal, José María * < Past Champion
Armour III, Tommy Hart, Dudley Parel, Scott
Austin, Woody Hoch, Scott < Parnevik, Jesper
Broadhurst, Paul Huston, John Pavin, Corey
Browne, Olin Irwin, Hale * < Pernice Jr., Tom
Bryant, Bart Jacobsen, Peter + Petrovic, Tim
Calcavecchia, Mark Janzen, Lee < Roberts, Loren <
Clarke, Darren Jiménez, Miguel Angel Sauers, Gene
Cochran, Russ Jobe, Brandt Short, Jr., Wes
Daly, John + Jones, Kent Sindelar, Joey
Dawson, Marco Kelly, Jerry Sluman, Jeff
Day, Glen Kendall, Skip Smith, Jerry
DiMarco, Chris Kite, Tom * Stricker, Steve
Duke, Ken Kraft, Greg Sutherland, Kevin
Durant, Joe < Kresge, Cliff Sutton, Hal
Estes, Bob Langer, Bernhard *< Tanigawa, Ken
Faxon, Brad Lehman, Tom Toms, David
Flesch, Steve Levi, Wayne Triplett, Kirk <
Frost, David Lyle, Sandy * Verplank, Scott
Funk, Fred Maggert, Jeff Waldorf, Duffy
Gilbert III, Gibby Mayfair, Billy Woosnam, Ian *
Gillis, Tom McCarron, Scott
Goosen, Retief * Mediate, Rocco


For more information about the Chubb Classic, visit ChubbClassic.com or call the tournament office at (239) 593-3900.


Participants Announced for the Golf to Paradise – First Tee Champions Challenge


Naples, Fla – The Chubb Classic announced the participants that will be part of the annual Golf to Paradise – First Tee Champions Challenge presented by the Naples, Marco Island, Everglades Convention and Visitors Bureau. The three-day competition, Feb. 15 – 17, will give two participants from 12 different First Tee chapters (24 total participants) from around the country the opportunity to play at Quail Creek Country Club and Flamingo Island in Naples during the Chubb Classic.

“As Host Charity of the Chubb Classic, we could not be more excited to have 11 other First Tee chapters in Naples for a weekend of fun competition and activities,” said Cindy Darland, Executive Director of The First Tee of Naples/Collier. “Our partnership with the Naples, Marco Island, Everglades Convention and Visitors Bureau and the Chubb Classic has allowed junior golfers to create fond memories that will last a lifetime.”

During the 2019 event, 24 participants will play a total of nine holes during each of the three days of competition with an alternative format each day. On Friday, the teams will play in a scramble, followed by a modified alternate shot on Saturday and closing with a better ball format on Sunday. Final scoring will be based off total points earned each day of the nine-hole format. Following play on Sunday, Feb. 17, the winning chapter of The First Tee Champions Challenge will be announced during an award ceremony on 18 green at the Chubb Classic.

“We could not be happier to see the First Tee Champions Challenge tradition continue at the 2019 Chubb Classic,” said Jack Wert, Executive Director of the Naples, Marco Island, Everglades Convention and Visitors Bureau. “The amount of dedication and talent these junior golfers bring to the game of golf is incredible to witness and we look forward to having them in the Paradise Coast.”

The participating junior golfers and First Tee chapters are listed below:

The First Tee of Naples/Collier
Joey Burke, 17Robert Walbert, 17
The First Tee of Greater Philadelphia
Lenny Gipson, 17
Joseph Morganti, 17
The First Tee of the Triangle

Catherine Vivongsy, 15
Tyla McAffity, 15

The First Tee of the Twin Cities
Stellan Orvick, 17
Timothy Berger, 16

The First Tee of Atlanta
Mylz Olver, 17
Blair Henry, 14

The First Tee of Greater Washington, DC
Owen Porter, 16
Kaylin Yeoh, 15

The First Tee of Northwest Arkansas
Ben Fowler, 15
Kirsten Matlock, 17

The First Tee of West Michigan
Jorge Garcia, 16
Connor Penn, 15

The First Tee of Roanoke Valley
Ross Funderburker, 17
Cameron Dillon, 17

The First Tee of Indiana
Ajani Johnson, 15
Sam Roberts, 17

The First Tee of Pittsburgh
Victoria Slage, 14
Victoria Witouski, 15

The First Tee of Greater Chicago
Ryan Myer, 15
Brendan Cleary, 15

To purchase tickets or for more information about the Chubb Classic and the Golf to Paradise—First Tee Champions Challenge, please visit www.ChubbClassic.com or call the Tournament Office at (239) 593-3900.


Kevin Diaz, Tournament Director, Octagon
(904) 556-8649 or Kevin.Diaz@octagon.com

Michele Bates, Marketing & Communications Manager, Octagon
(219) 781-8833 or Michele.Bates@octagon.com